ENVIRONMENTAL, CONSERVATION & SUSTAINIBILITY COMMITTEE Digitally originating – Council Chambers 1st Floor – 6510 Shallowford Road February 8, 2022 – 6:30 PM

 Call to Order – Chair Smitherman called the meeting to order at 6:36 PM. In attendance were Kay Smitherman, Paul Harp, Barbara Hudgens, and Gretchen Roberts. Russell Bailey and Robert Smitherman were absent.

Clerk Note: Russell Bailey's resignation to be presented to Council February 10.

Clerk Note: Minutes were typed from BAC Summary. Zoom recording had not been downloaded at time of transcription.

- II. Agenda Approval Agenda was approved.
- III. Guest(s) None
- IV. **Approval of Minutes** None at this time.

V. Old Business

- a. <u>TerraCycle Update</u> The Town website has been updated with the new TerraCycle items and email address. The box for Yankee Candle is ready to ship. The committee was requested to collect #6 plastics and give them to Ms. Hudgens.
- b. <u>Piedmont Earth Day</u> Information related to Piedmont Earth Day will be in the March/April newsletter. The committee will attend the event as participants to gain future ideas.

VI. New Business

- a. <u>Committee Growth</u> The committee discussed sponsoring or leading a Creek Week event or participating in Big Sweep. The committee feels public events such as clean ups and outreach will help garner attention and prove beneficial to the community. The committee also feels a sustainable director is important. Furthermore, a Town energy audit should be conducted.
- b. <u>In-person meetings</u> Consensus to begin in-person meetings with the March 8th meeting.

VII. For the Good of the Order

- a. Website information for the ECSC needs to be updated to reflect Gretchen Roberts as a member and the second Tuesday as the meeting date.
- b. Council address future plans and goals for the committee.
- c. Special events are May 14 and October 29.
- d. Next regular scheduled meeting will be March 8, 2021.

VIII. Adjournment – Having no further business to discuss, the meeting ended at 7:14 PM.

ATTEST:	
	Kay Smitherman, Chair
 Dora K. Moore, Town Clerk	