ENVIRONMENTAL, CONSERVATION & SUSTAINIBILITY COMMITTEE Town Hall Conference Room 201 February 13, 2024 – 6:00 PM

- Call to Order Chair Smitherman called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM. In attendance were Kay Smitherman, Chelsea Blount, Brittany Burke, Henry Fasler, Jennifer Haydon, Barbara Hudgens, Gretchen Roberts, Robert Smitherman, and Public Works Director Jon Hanna. Alex Branower, Melody Joyner, Jonathan Linck, and Emily Price were absent. Council Member Huffman was also in attendance.
- II. **Agenda Approval** Kay Smitherman moved to approve the agenda to include an item related to community swap under Subcommittee Reports. The motion was seconded by Chelsea Blount and motion approved unanimously.
- III. **Approval of Minutes** Jennifer Haydon moved to approve the November 14, 2023 minutes. The motion was seconded by Barbara Hudgens and motion approved unanimously.

IV. Old Business

- a. <u>2024 Earth Day</u> The committee discussed details related to the upcoming 2024 Lewisville Earth Day (LED) in terms of vendors, setup, advertising, handouts, recruitment and more.
- b. <u>2024 Newsletter topics</u> The committee shared potential newsletter topics for 2024. The first article of submission will be regarding Voluntary Agricultural Districts since this program was recently approved by the Town.

V. New Business

- a. <u>School outreach</u> The committee discussed the upcoming 2024 Science Fair at Lewisville Elementary School.
- VI. Subcommittee Reports (Clerk Note: There were no notes regarding these topics.)
 - a. Supporting Clean Energy
 - b. Education related to community swap of clothing/gear

VII. Staff Reports

- a. Cardboard recycling update Jon Hanna
- b. E-Cycle update Jon Hanna
- c. Earth Day April 13, 2024
- d. Spring Bulky Service April 15, 2024

VIII. For the Good of the Order

- a. Next meeting, if needed: March 12, 2024
- IX. Adjournment Having no further business to discuss, Robert Smitherman moved to adjourn at 7:02
 PM. The motion was seconded by Barbara Hudgens and motion approved unanimously.

ATTEST:

Kay Smitherman, Chair

Dora K. Moore, Town Clerk

NOTE: There was no recording of the meeting. Minutes were typed from notes taken by Jon Hanna.